Tuesday, November 13, 2018
Tech & The Web

Facebook Change Will Block Third-Party Apps From Posting to Profiles

If you use social media management apps like Buffer or Co-Schedule, there’s a Facebook change you need to be aware of that takes effect in July.

Buffer says a Facebook change will prevent it from posting to profiles after July 26.

Posting to pages will not be affected by the change. But once that date rolls around, third-party social media management apps will be blocked from posting to profiles.

Buffer is a social media management tool that allows users to set a schedule of times they wish to post, then drop content into the empty slots of that schedule. Once content is placed into the schedule, the user can move that content around to change the order in which it appears. Currently, and apparently, through July 25, you can continue posting to both profiles and pages.

To use Facebook, you must have a profile. The profile is where you display your name, photos (if you wish) and information about yourself. Once you have a profile built, you can then set up a page for your professional use. If you’re Sam Smith, owner of Smith Plumbing, you can have a Sam Smith profile and a Smith Plumbing page.

Over the years, people have tried to create profiles for businesses rather than pages, something that can prompt Facebook to delete a business profile.

Buffer’s website states Facebook is making changes to “improve their ecosystem and prevent spam and misuse.” They say they believe the change will have a “net positive effect, especially for small businesses and organizations using healthy social media strategies.”

But they think they know why Facebook is making the change:

We believe that Facebook is also actively encouraging people to use tools like Buffer Publish for their business or organization, rather than personal use. They are continuing to support the use of Facebook Pages, rather than personal Profiles, for things like scheduling and analytics.

That may well be the case, and it would make sense.

If you’re the type who has enjoyed scheduling content on your Facebook profile through third-party apps, you’ll soon lose that ability. You’ll still be able to schedule posts in advance on your profile at the Facebook website itself. That means if you like scheduling in advance across multiple pages and profiles, you’ll no longer be able to do so in one place.

Will the change affect how you post at all?

Leave a Response

We'd love to hear from you, but remember all comments must be respectful. We reserve the right to remove comments that do not follow our comment guidelines. Click here to review our comment policy.

Your name, as provided, will display on the website with any comment you leave. Your email address and your browser’s IP address does not display publicly and we do not share or sell your email address or IP address to anyone.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Patrick is a Christian with more than 27 years experience in professional writing, producing and marketing. His professional background also includes social media, reporting for broadcast television and the web, directing, videography and photography. He enjoys getting to know people over coffee and spending time with his dog.